Latest News

नवीनतम समाचार

    27th April 2017

    CM announces 20 lakh each for Sukma martyrs

    27th April 2017


    27th April 2017

    News photographs only

    27th April 2017

    Governor receives PM on Shimla visit

    27th April 2017

    CM welcomes Prime Minister at Jubbarhatti

    26th April 2017

    Hydro Engineering College to produce skilled man power for hydro sector

    26th April 2017

    Chief Minister dedicates new complex of DDU Hospital

    26th April 2017

    CM directs to redress the grievances of freedom fighters within a month

    26th April 2017

    CM stresses for preservation of cultural heritage

    25th April 2017

    Governor and Chief Minister condemn Naxal attack on CRPF jawans

  • Read Moreऔर पढ़ें

Bio-Data of Shri Virbhadra Singh, Chief Minister, Himachal Pradesh


Son of late Shri Padam Singh and late Smt. Shanti Devi, Shri Virbhadra Singh was born on 23 June, 1934 at Sarahan, District Shimla Himachal Pradesh and is permanent resident of Padam Palace, Rampur Bushahr, District Shimla, Himachal Pradesh. B.A. (Hons) and M.A. he was educated at Bishop Cotton School, Shimla and St. Stephen’s College, New Delhi, Married to Smt. Pratbha Kumari, he has one son and four daughters.

Shri Virbhadra Singh was elected  to 3rd Lok Sabha in 1962, 4th Lok Sabha in 1967 (2nd term), 5th Lok Sabha in 1972 (3rd term). Was member of Indian Delegation to the General Assembly of the United Nations in 1976. He remained Deputy Minister of Tourism and Civil Aviation in Government of India from December 1976 to March 1977 and President of State Congress Committee in 1977, 1979 and 1980. Was again elected to 7th Lok Sabha in 1980 (4th term).

He was Minister of State for Industries in Government of India from September 1982 to April 1983 and was elected to State Legislative Assembly (SLA) from Jubbal-Kotkhai (twice) in a by-election on 5th October 1983 and in 1985. Elected to SLA from Rohru constituency in 1990, 1993, 1998, 2003 and 2007. He was elected MP from Mandi Parliamentary Constituency HP in  2009.  He remained Chief Minister of the Himachal Pradesh from 8th April 1983 to 5th March 1990, from 3rd  December 1993 to 23rd March 1998 and  from 6th March 2003 to 29th December 2007.He remained Leader of Opposition in the State Legislative Assembly Himachal Pradesh from March 1998 to March 2003.

He remained Union Minister for Steel in Government of India (GoI) from May 2009 to January 2011 and Cabinet Minister for Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises in GoI from 19th January 2011 to June 2012. He became President of Himachal Pradesh Congress Committee on 26th August, 2012.

Shri Virbhadra Singh was elected Member of State Legislative Assembly on 20th December 2012 from Shimla Rural constituency and became Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh from 25th December,2012 for record SIXTH time.

Shri Virbhadra Singh has been associated with various  cultural and social organizations. He remained associated with Indo-Soviet Friendship Society, Friends of Soviet Union (now Russia), President Sanskrit Sahitya Sammelan, Himachal Pradesh and Member of Estimates Committee, Lok Sabha, Railway Convention Committee, Chairman, Petition Committee, Lok Sabha.

          He is member of Indian International Centre, New Delhi, Shimla Amateur Dramatic Club, Gaiety Theatre, Shimla. His special interests are reading and gardening.

He has visited various countries like Afghanistan, Egypt, France, Germany, Ghana, Guinea, Hungary, Italy, Kuwait, Lebanon, Mauritania, Mauritius, Nigeria, Poland, Senegal, Syria, United Kingdom, United States of America, U.S.S.R and Yugoslavia. Also travelled in other countries of Europe, America, Middle East and Far East.

He remained Honorary Captain in Indian Army, Awarded Silver Elephant for Contribution in Scouts and Guides Movement, Awarded Golden Peacock Environment Leadership Award by London based Institute of Directors for Contribution in Promotion of Environment, Wild Life, Environment,Governance and Eco-Tourism.